Use of Version Control

If a model is under version control, the Berkely Studio will indicate if your local version differs from the version present in the repository on the server. When you open the model in the Publisher the cache will be automatically updated, so there is no need to explicitly update the file.

Changes in the model will only be submitted once you save the file. If your local version has changed, the Berkeley Studio will tell you that your local model no longer corresponds to the version on the server.

This means you now have two options:

  1. Either commit your changes to the central repository, or
  2. back-out, discard local changes, and revert to the version on the server.

Accordingly, where they before were disabled, in the menu [VERSION CONTROL] the buttons Commit and Revert will become active.

When commiting, describe the changes you made in the comment box, so that others and your future self will know what the purpose of the commit in question was.

Inspecting changes

When you want to inspect changes between commits or between your working copy and a previous commit, press the button at [VERSION CONTROL >Differences] or use the shortcut [F8]. The following window will appear:

The SubVersion Differences window
The SubVersion Differences window

The different versions of your model will be shown in the two tree-view panels on the left: your local copy on the left and the latest version on the server next to it. The panel on the far right features a log of earlier versions. In the example above, a node ‘midden’ has been added in the local version, a Data ‘cc’ in the node ‘start’ and a Data ‘x’ in the node ‘einde’. You also see that the ‘source changed’ behind node ‘start’. By double-clicking on ‘source changed’ the differences at source level are shown.

At the level of graphs and nodes the differences can be managed separately:

If you select a node that doesn’t exist on the server, it can be skipped (i.e. not committed to the server repository) by clicking the button ‘Forget it’. If a node or graph does exist on the server and is modified locally, you can opt to use the server version by selecting ‘Use theirs’.

A model consists not only of the code of the model itself, but also of a file that contains references to information sources. Besides that, the model can include documents and images. That’s why it is possible to select each of those components. The file <modelname>.xml is the model itself, the file <modelname>.xmlis refers to the information sources.

At the bottom of the screen you can further select what you want to be done with the model.

Cancel
Cancel the changes and close the screen (this also cancels the modifications in the ‘Differences’ pane).
Revert <file>
Discard the local modifications to <file>, use the server version. This can apply to the model as such or to a document or image, depending on your selection from the drop-down list.
Revert all
Discard the entire local version of the model, including the extra files. Everything is fetched from the server again, including images and documents. The window will be closed.
Commit <file>
Upload local modifications of <file> to the Subversion server.
Commit all
Send all changes to the server and close the window.
OK
Confirm what you have done up until now and close the window.

Comparing earlier versions

We were just now comparing your local copy or working version with the latest version on the server. You can also compare your local version to an earlier version: double-click on an earlier version in the right-hand log panel to put in the right-hand tree-view.

Compare two historical versions with each other by dragging them from the log panel on the right to either one of the tree-view panels.