Webadmin Model Management
Once you have selected a model, there are a few tasks you can perform - here is a line by line breakdown:
If your server (and the selected model) is set to store Management Information System (MIS) data, the model name will have a
download link on the right. This will download a CSV file containing a surface level of stored data from this model, of every session created.
If you store large amounts of data in MIS, you may want to consider using a MongoDB and an associated Management Information System Dashboard (MID)
description field can be any text that describes the model, and this is primarily what the presentation layer will use a title to the model when listing models.
The language selection tells the presentation layer which language the model is intended, in case the layer is set up to switch to an appropriate language layer.
- There are three check boxes available to begin with:
- Grant anonymous access
- This will allow anyone who access to the server the ability to run the model.
- Hide from menu
- Will stop the model from showing the list of models in the presentation layer.
- Allow downloading this model and it’s resources
- If this is checked, and the presentation layer is set up to facilitate this, users with access to this model will also be able to download the actual
.mdland all associated resources as a ZIP file.
You can also set the Save mode of the model here, which dictates when a session is saved during running of the model. There are five self explanatory options for this:
- on every step
- on exit
- on demand
- user server-wide settings (default)
Beneath the save mode, you can also see which user the model is currently accepting publishing from - and this can be changed here as well by clicking the button:
Make somebody publisher
From here you can see which domains this model is a member of, and potentially add or remove it from domains.
- This is the definite version
- checkbox is meant to let the presentation layer know that the model is no longer in development - however most presentation layer are not configured to care about that.
- About the model
- can be used to give specific meta information pertaining to the model. In some cases the presentation layer will display this data in the model list.
- keywords can be provided here which the presentation can use to create an HTML
<meta>element, which is commonly believed to be used by search engines as a means to index a web page (or application in this case). In truth, search engines don’t actually use these keywords to index sites.
- is a field which should hold the authors name, and this info is passed to the presentation layer, which can show that if configured to do so. The field is automatically set to the username of the original publisher, but this can be overwritten. It has no impact on the actual publishing rights to the model - this is meta information only.
- About the author
- is a field where you could write some extra info about the author, and the presentation layer could display that info somewhere if you so wished.
- Company name
- could be displayed somewhere by the presentation layer if configured to do so.
- Server instructions
- is a field where you could provide specific information for the presentation layer to use - possibly in order to dictate how a plugin should react for this particular model. You should only use on advice from a developer at Berkeley Bridge.
Within the advanced section there are two check boxes:
- auto-generate jumplist
- when checked, at the start of a session, the presentation layer will attempt to ‘look ahead’ in the model and create a jump list from visible nodes. This requires the model to have very simple logic and no required fields.
- force restart on old case
- when checked, upon opening an old session from the cases’ menu, the user is forced to start from the beginning node instead of the node where that session ended.
There is sub-section aptly named
HTML "Stuff" - this should be ignored.